Wearing DPM for civvy shooting?

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by theinventor, Aug 12, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I’m fairly new to the civvy club shooting scene, but have been surprised at the amount and variety of DPM and military equipment / clothing in use. No doubt there are some plausible reasons for having and using such kit; in the right circumstances it could even be considered ally, but I suspect there are some Waltish tendencies on display as well.

I wouldn’t want to think someone a tw@t when he’s actually sound – or vice versa, so I tried to think of some rules of thumb, I’m sure that Arrsers can come up with some more:

- Any current or recent UK pattern kit (bought, not issued) = possibly Walting it
    - Overseas or limited issue UK, acquired in the course of your work (with good story) = Ally potential
    - Anyone under 12 years of age = fine, they’ll probably join up in due course so might as well start now

Any suggestions for the worst case of overdoing it with the DPM? Remember, we’re talking about real guns here, used for the purpose of making small holes in bits of paper some distance away – not Airsoft or other such genuinely Walt-attracting hobbies.

2. How can you over-do DPM when shooting?? Perhaps you should rock up to your next stalk wearing nothing but dayglo orange?

Are you really that stupid as to ask why they're all wearing DPM??

3. It's not that they have to conceal themselves for a piece of paper in the distance is it?

I'd say they're walting the place up.

4. Dayglo orange wasn't a problem in this case.

Attached Files:

5. You'll also find that some people are on the point to get their rifle dialled in for when they go stalking, and for rifle practice. Why wear something that you wouldn't go hunting in?