Warm Jackets

Discussion in 'Military Clothing & Boots' started by Digital Ghost, Jan 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys, newbie here to the forums.

Anyway I'm looking for a tactical jacket that is fairly warm but not too much.

I have a few that I'm looking at, any advice on these?

Buffalo Belay jacket
    Haglofs Barrier II
    Snugpak Sleeka Lite

Do you guys have any ideas on other jackets that are similar? (must be black with no major logos)

2. How tactical? We talking Shamoolies in the sleeves? Sand table map in the pockets?

Worth considering the Keela Belay.

(Its got a frickin ETC in it.)

3. Sod it, this place is as good as any, I'm going to hijack this thread with another question for the "ARRSE intelect" as well. Let's face it, threads quickly go off topic anyway, so might just as well accept this as the norm and just get on with it...

So here's the question: What would be the best choice of jacket to wear in civies in the style of mixed dress? you know, when a civi looks like a civi wearing an Army surplus jacket with, say, jeans? Would a DPM jacket be better than say, a desert pattern?

4. Buffalo Mountain Shirt, mines been going 15 years now and shows no signs of dying yet.

5. Like the Buffalo; try the Montane Extreme Smock - seems better built, with thicker pile.

6. I pretty much wear my Buffalo special 6 shirt all winter long, with the DP hood fitted and the mitts, down to about -20 (I live in southern Alberta). I'll break out my TNF McMurdo parka if it gets below that.

Get the buffalo.

• Like Like x 1
  7. Do you prefer over head smock type, or zip up front? I'd go Buffalo, had mine since Grapple 3, still going!!

8. Buffalo jackets are brilliant .....they are so good that mine got nicked !