War Pensions - What did you get???

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by sparkz77, Oct 22, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Having recently applied for a further condition to be taken into account, I've just got the decision letter and wondered how my assessment compares to others...

BACKGROUND

My initial injury was a problem with an ankle which meant that I could continue with normal life, but it gave me problems if I did too much walking, and definitely couldn't run any more (having been a keen runner previously).

This was assessed at 6-14% in 2005 which equated to a one-off gratuity of £4640.

My further condition is osteoarthritis of a hip which has become very painful over the past year or so. I'm still able to work (I'm an electrician) but the joint clicks and I get severe pain in the hip and the knee. I'm permanently on strong painkillers and anti-inflammatories.

This has just been taken into account and my new assessment for all conditions is 20% (i.e. £29.02 per week).

HOW DOES THIS COMPARE TO YOUR CLAIM?

There seems to be very little on the web so that you can compare your claim to similar ones, so I'm inviting anyone who receives a War Pension to put share their experiences. Please quote the following information, stating in each case if the injury is for a single limb etc or both:

Accepted conditions inc severity, percentage or gratuity.

Please use a scale of severity of 1-10 on how manageable or painful your condition is. So my information would read:

Single ankle injury (3) + Single hip osteoarthritis (8) = 20%

Looking forward to your replies!

2. Why do you want to know?

Why don't I believe you are an electrician?

What was your job when serving?

3. Why do I want to know? Wouldn't you like to know if you're getting similar to everyone else?