Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Wanting to join infantry

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBz

Crow
Hey, im new to this but here it goes.....

I want to apply for the infantry in January, but have a quick question about the regiment i am looking to join.. I want to join the Irish Guards and this might sound stupid, but figured it would be best sounding stupid on here rather than a recruitment office right?

Anyway, can i join the Irish Guards even though im not Irish?
I would be up for joining the other Guards, but i researched Irish and they seem more my type, and its not said anywhere that that i would have to be Irish.. But i just wanted to make sure.

Thanks.

(Also open to comments if you dont think Irish Guards is right for me in some way)

Yes, you can join the Irish Guards without being Irish.
I believe they recruit quite well from scouseland, If it's from outside their catchment area you may have a problem and have to join another regiment if there are no family ties (as i understand it)

Thanks for reply
Im from Southport just by Liverpool, but still counted as Merseyside, but now i know English can join i can ask my local recruitment centre without the risk of looking stupid. :)
Thanks

Your chances of not being Irish are pretty slim if you're from Liverpool, since it did use to be Ireland's capital. ;-)

Can I ask, why you particularly want to join the Infantry, no disrespect but there are a lot of opportunities throughout the Army.