Vocational driving and Working time directive

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by tank6275, May 25, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. ok, couple of questions regarding this working time directive.
    I'm an HGV driver in civvy street doing 4, 12 hour, shifts. Obviously equaling 48 hours a week. Therefore i've been told i cannot work any overtime.
    Ive done plenty overtime in the past (adhering to my drivers hours) but the arrival of a new transport manager has also brought about the stopping of doing any overtime as he says you have to average out at 48 hours a week and that this WTD has to be stuck to! despite the fact he thinks its only relative to drivers, what a muppet!

So i did some reading up on the government website regarding the WTD, and believe there is an option to opt out of the 48 hour cap.

Can people today still opt out of the WTD, and more specifically can vocational drivers opt out, as long as european drivers hours are stuck to?

Also even if I choose to opt out of the WTD can my employers still refuse to give me overtime shifts?

Many thanks
    Tank

2. You want to point him towards RTD and HAD, as you stated there is the opt out and it's up to the individual.

Useful link below. It might be worth speaking to the guy to see if a plan can be put in place to do this, such as collating the opt out sheets, carrying out risk assessments, etc to gather the evidence that it would be beneficial or not.

http://www.roadtransport.com/RoadLegal/11935/wtd-rtd-explained.html

3. The often quoted 48 hour per week is averaged out over a third of a year (17 weeks).

4. Nope you as a commercial driver cannot opt out of the 48 hour working week even if you really wanted to. Your TM is right. The D as in WTD stands for directive, meaning you have to do it.