Virginia is for Lovers

OK, I'll admit it ... I was browsing Rum Ration while ARRSE was being sick, and I found they had a thread on US Holidays. Here's what I said ...

She and I have been holidaying in the USA for the last 10 years. Being now "comfortably retired", we go for 3-4 weeks at a time, occasionally twice a year.
And we don't go where the tourists go, or do the conventional "holiday stuff". We sort of try to live there.
Where do we go? Northern Virginia, on the outskirts of Washington DC, in the City of Alexandria. Why do we go there, and keep on going?
Here's a list.

1. The People. Virginia is South, and the people are generally incredibly courteous. Perhaps, significantly, as a Brit you are an unusual occurrence in their lives, and they are politely fascinated.

2. The Geography. Go 80 miles west, and you have the Blue Ridge Mountains of virginia [only sing that once per trip] and the Shenedoah Valley. Go 80 miles east and you have the Chesapeake Bay, Annapolis and cute stuff like that. Go 5 miles north and you have Washington DC ...

3. Local Interest. Washington DC, the Smithsonian Museums [loads of them, including the Air & Space of course]. The History of the entire area, especially the Civil War [battlefields, museums, history trails, re-enactments]. Remember that this area was where much of it happened, and it's deep in the local psyche. And, for the Booties, the new Marine Museum at Quantico is about 30 minutes drive south on I95 ... on our list for June.

4. Retail. The Discount and Outlet shopping is to die for, ladies. A PM will give you details of places to go. Mrs B_S's best buy, I think, was an Anne Klein evening jacket reduced from $500 to $9.99. For the guys, if you take the time, you virtually can get any designer brand item you want for under $20. BTW ... nice exchange rate!!