Vintage parachute?

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Butilikethecookie, Feb 21, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey everyone,

an Irish friend of mine who's into crafts and jewellery is looking for a vintage parachute for an artsy photo shoot. I am a long-time lurker and I'm wondering if anyone here has any ideas how I could find one or knows anyone who might still have one? Money's tight and getting one loaned would be just fine, too.

Any thoughts? :) Thank ye's all!

- Butilikethecookie

• Like Like x 1
  2. Yeah, well that's the problem. It's supposed to be one of them fancy silk beige ones... think WWII movies. It's one of those I can't find - if they even exist, I'm no expert on parachutes unfortunately.

3. Lay off the vintage crap. Some of us on here trained on the X type!

• Like Like x 1
  4. You don't happen to still have one? =-D

Seriously though, kudos to ye fellas, I'd only ever jump out of an aircraft if it was on fire... That stuff's just not for me.

I heard the white silk parachutes were popular with the ladies in occupied Germany and more than one wore a "redesigned" one for their wedding. I bet those were worth a pretty penny even back in those days, nevermind now I guess.

5. Last white silk chute I saw was a T-33 one that was just about time expired in the mid 70's (life of a chute was one deployment or 12 years in the RCAF). After that they were all ripstop nylon in multi colour.

6. ...and a damned fine piece of kit it was too, I never had one fail to open! :omg:

7. Thank you, Yank. The trouble is that I need the parachute itself to be white not necessarily the pack it comes in.