Vintage parachute?

Hey everyone,

an Irish friend of mine who's into crafts and jewellery is looking for a vintage parachute for an artsy photo shoot. I am a long-time lurker and I'm wondering if anyone here has any ideas how I could find one or knows anyone who might still have one? Money's tight and getting one loaned would be just fine, too.

Any thoughts? :) Thank ye's all!

- Butilikethecookie

Yeah, well that's the problem. It's supposed to be one of them fancy silk beige ones... think WWII movies. It's one of those I can't find - if they even exist, I'm no expert on parachutes unfortunately.

You don't happen to still have one? =-D

Seriously though, kudos to ye fellas, I'd only ever jump out of an aircraft if it was on fire... That stuff's just not for me.

I heard the white silk parachutes were popular with the ladies in occupied Germany and more than one wore a "redesigned" one for their wedding. I bet those were worth a pretty penny even back in those days, nevermind now I guess.

Last white silk chute I saw was a T-33 one that was just about time expired in the mid 70's (life of a chute was one deployment or 12 years in the RCAF). After that they were all ripstop nylon in multi colour.

Thank you, Yank. The trouble is that I need the parachute itself to be white not necessarily the pack it comes in.

I think I'm really looking for a piece of military equipment that only made "sense" at the time: highly expensive (silk) and pretty visible (white). It's a good thing the tech has caught up a wee bit since then, but an olive nylon canopy just isn't as iconic I suppose - especially in a civvy photo shoot.

Flash, thanks for the info. If they disappeared in the 70s, I think they're pretty much unobtainable now, certainly for anything like her budget. =(