Vintage boots. Need help to id.

Ok fellow ARRSErs, who can tell me whether there were issue or not? Ned Senior reckons that he had them while he was with the Royal West African Frontier Force in 46-49 (ish). He certainly used them in the TA and later as a cadet detatchment commander in the 50s and 60s. He is now 91 but was still using them for gardening as recently as 3 years ago. They have been evicted from his garage and I have been tasked to “get rid of them”. It goes against the grain to ditch them and I sense that they might appeal to some reenactor type. They need a touch of polish but are basically sound.

2A4E9136-8DE8-4CB7-B857-9A778641DB66.jpeg

I'm no expert but they look rather like US WW2 army issue* - the Septics would have had zillions of the feckers to get rid of, after 1945. That said, the GI boot didn't have heavy cleated soles, but any decent cobbler could stitch a commando sole to a goodyear welted boot when the original rubber sole was worn through.

P.S. Please confirm that your photography is shiite, and it's not my eyesight making them look all fuzzy round the edges.
- - - -
* Although they could be a tad on the tall side - difficult to know without seeing them with their pilot aboard.

I think these are British officer's field boots, probably WW2.

CW Horrell DR boots perhaps.

Edit.

Not sure if they are DR boots or officer purchase boots but I think they must be a resoled and welted pair of these.

The Collector's Guild

Quick scan on ebay shows three companies other than Horrell making identical boots, looks like officer's private purchase it is.

Last edited:
Last edited:
CW Horrell DR boots perhaps.

Edit.

Not sure if they are DR boots or officer purchase boots but I think they must be a resoled and welted pair of these.

The Collector's Guild
Yup - almost identical ('cept the Guild photo is in focus, and the boots lacck the add-on rubber sole)