VETTING WORRIES!

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by Irongron, Mar 3, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Heya fellas!

I'm currently a student at university and I was looking at becoming an Int Corps soldier as I'm really interested in intelligence work.

I've got some worries about the vetting though. I went for a job at the MoD some years ago, got a provisional offer but failed the security vetting after one month into the process. They couldn't tell me the reason why which is fair enough as it might reveal their methods.

I have British-Irish dual nationality and my accent is very half and half. I have lived in the UK since 1987, having been born Irish. My parents are of UK, Irish or Commonwealth origin. At the time of applying to the MoD, I wasn't a British citizen so that may have been the reason why they couldn't give me clearance.

However, I studied in the Republic of Ireland and one fairly recent year [after the Good Friday Agreement] I joined every single Irish political party you could think of as I was studying Politics at the time. I did it to look at which party I was interested in. However Sinn Fein was among one of the parties I joined, as well as the Green, Labour and Centre-Right and Centre-Left parties. In the end I never EVER went to any Shinner meeting, or took part in any political campaign of theirs. I received emails from then but, to be honest, i didn't even read them. I'm happy to be honest about this in the process [although i neglected to mention this when applying to the MoD], and the fact that I really did very little at university except drink and score girls.

My worry is, despite being honest, would I still be fcuked? I am proud of my Irishness but also very aware that Sinn Fein are a bunch of murderers and bootleggers as do most people in Ireland.