Veterans Health

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Aquafresh, Dec 5, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I left the radc after 13 yrs six months ago and I'm now a snr manager for a northern primary care trust. One of the directors approached me yesterday asking for my input into the rollout of war-pension services to veterans of recent campaigns (but not NI for some reason - trying to find out why!).

Any way I now find myself in a position where I can influence the provision of services. Apart from the need for priority on hospital waiting lists and appropriate mental health care can any members advise on services they think we should look into?

Many Thanks

2. BiscuitsAB

BiscuitsAB LE Moderator

how about prosthetics and from a selfish point orthotics. unfortunately a significan number of the lads coming back from afghan need artificial limbs and as I'm sure you already know the damm things break and also the sockets need attention and often resizing sue to muscle wastage.

from my own perspective I'm lucky enough to have artificial limbs but do have to get my shoes made cause im a spac. and getting either shoes or new inserts seems to take an age.

On a forward planning basis I think that investment in the area of hearing loss is a definate must, there is going to be a massive requirement for care and aid in that area, my own lad has had his hearing shot to blazes in a permanant way after two tours of Afgahn.
  3. "On a forward planning basis I think that investment in the area of hearing loss is a definate must, there is going to be a massive requirement for care and aid in that area, my own lad has had his hearing shot to blazes in a permanant way after two tours of Afgahn."