Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Variable Speed Bench Sander Conversion

Legs

ADC
Book Reviewer
I have a Clarke brand bench sander/disc sander combo thing. TBH, it's pretty pants, but it's what I have and I can't afford to replace it with a decent one - I spent all my cash on a professional lathe.

This POS machine has a simple on/off button. Much of the wood I use burns at the speed this thing runs at. Can anyone tell me how to take the thing apart and convert it from the on/off button to a variable speed controller. I'm no electrician, but I know how to do the basics of electrikery.

Oh, and never, ever by 'Clarke' branded stuff. It's crap.

Put a dimmer switch in line?

Not sure how it would handle the current though.

I have a variable speed belt sander mounted vertically While I wait for a decent bandfacer to turn up on marketplace...

I believe most of these simple on/off devices have an induction motor and speed is determined by the AC frequency (UK = 50 Herz). Probably not possible to easily make it variable speed.

Joe_Private

On ROPS
On ROPs
I have a Clarke brand bench sander/disc sander combo thing. TBH, it's pretty pants, but it's what I have and I can't afford to replace it with a decent one - I spent all my cash on a professional lathe.

This POS machine has a simple on/off button. Much of the wood I use burns at the speed this thing runs at. Can anyone tell me how to take the thing apart and convert it from the on/off button to a variable speed controller. I'm no electrician, but I know how to do the basics of electrikery.

Oh, and never, ever by 'Clarke' branded stuff. It's crap.