V1/V2s

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by offog, Feb 23, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. And to highlight what you say I was talking to an old lady across the road from me last year. She confidently told me how frightening the V1 and V2 attacks were during the war. This was a personal memory of hers. She was at the time living in Humberside and had all her life. She was convinced that they had landed in this area. Personal memories can be like eye witness statements, not very accurate. I am convinced that I was an excellent soldier! :)

2. Not sure about V2s, but a V1 isn't outside the realms of possibility. I believe that the Heinkel He-111 was used to launch V1s and some got as far as Lancashire. Perhaps somebody has a link to a map of V1 impact sites?

3. Off topic but quite true.

4. Off topic indeed, but that is really very interesting. I had no idea that air-launched V1s had impacted so far North. Interesting also that some, so late in the war, carried psyops leaflets. Another interesting link from the article you posted: V1 Rocket Propaganda Leaflets . Thanks.

5. I did have a local history paperback on the air launched V1 attacks against the North of the country in late 44, which included an impact map but it has mysteriously been 'lost' that's her language for binned. As I remember in this area hits ranged from Chesterfield up to Bolton, mostly in to the countryside with about 4 fatalaties.

The leaflet drops I seem to remember included red cross return letters to POWs in Germany to aid confirmation of impact locality, the leaflets being ejected on motor cut out.