Utility of the British colonial experience for Operations in Afghanistan

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by falcone, Aug 15, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,
    I am a PhD Researcher trying to find out about the impact of the colonial experience on the operations in Afghanistan.

I would like to address a question to the active members of the British military in this forum who were or are deployed to Helmand:

From your personal experience in Afghanistan, do you think the British experience with "small wars" did make a change in the making of strategy and the planning and conduct of operations - compared to militaries from other nations, such as Germany?

There are a number of aspects which could be related to this: For example, to what extent did you to apply the COIN principles established after Malaya? Has the knowledge you had from past COIN campaigns helped you in understanding the priorities of COIN strategy? To what extent did practices from Northern Ireland influence the British campaign? Or did the "lessons" from the 19th century Anglo-Afghan Wars influence in any ways your perception of the country and the assessment of the conflict?

I am looking forward to your opinions and ideas - thank you very much for your help!
    Please do not hesitate to send me a personal message, if preferred.

Best wishes,
  2. Mr Happy

Mr Happy LE Moderator

I think your first question needs to be:

To what extent are you aware that current COIN doctrine is based on Colonial experiences?