Using Skype in Afghanistan

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by SilverBullet, Jul 27, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi All,

A quick question... Am due to be in LKG later this year and was wondering if it would be possible to use Skype over the wireless Internet network?

I'm no expert but i'd say the bandwidth requirements for voice-only Skype calls wouldn't be that large.

Any ideas?

2. Not been there for a little while but I would say ...NO. Bandwidth is a premium but there are plenty of PC's and Phones provided by Paradigm and if you need more talk time you can buy it for a cheap price.

You can also ring home using your Paradigm account card via the RED or BLACK telephone networks. (If you have access to a phone that does not have to be left open for inbound calls)
  3. Fella, there are plenty of welfare means for speaking to your mates in the UK etc. Skype is wide open for others to abuse or monitor what you send or say. If you arent sure - speak to your yos / fos... :roll:
  4. As far as I am aware skype is a pretty secure system with 256 bit encryption on all calls. Can you back up your security concerns?
  5. Not sure of the ins and outs but i was under the impression that Skype was simply encrypted to people without Skype software. It is a very basic form of encryption and if you have Skype software all communications are clear. I very much doubt they are using the same level of encryption as we are.
  6. I have friends who use this. It would depend on where you are more then anything. Bandwidth is at a premium in most places but if you're lucky......
  7. Funnily enough we were talking about this today. We are due to deploy to BASTION next month and was wondering if you can use it out there. Some say you can, some say you cant.