Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Using animal feed molasses as a de-rusting agent

Sticky847

Swinger
Hello all and first thread start on ARRSE, I have used animal feed molasses mixed with water in a 1 to9 mix to de rust various items, it is quite slow and also temperature dependant, however it de rusted a 1920’s petrol tin with no damage to a thin and corroded material. Lastly I used it to de rust a No5 record vice, it went well but after a while it stopped working and then the surface acquired a light green accretion as seen in the picture, does the ARRSE collective know why this may be?

Attachments

• 77790E1D-E23C-4EC4-B0F5-ED9357BAFCF9.jpeg
    77790E1D-E23C-4EC4-B0F5-ED9357BAFCF9.jpeg
    966.8 KB · Views: 85
Best I can do on a quick search. I'm not an expert.
Maybe you could saw off a piece, and soak it in the molasses. If the green only appears in the (original) outer part, then it must have been coated with something.

Is this using the same batch of molasses ? what type are you using, has the PH changed during storage ?
Have you tried the vice in some sugary coca cola , the may be more acid in the beverage, and what temp range do you use ?

Troy

LE
I just use distilled vinegar, or electrolysis and/or an ultrasonic bath.
The vinegar is cheap at 40p a bottle for Tesco's own or 30p for Lidl's.
For the Electrolysis I use washing soda instead of salt because it makes less mess.
The ultrasonic bath is just a tiny one so I tend to stand a taller plastic pot inside it for larger items. Mostly using just plain water, but sometimes I will try vinegar instead.
All in all it's much more straightforward and cheaper than molasses.

Sticky847

Swinger
For the Electrolysis I use washing soda instead of salt because it makes less mess.