US rangers vs British Paras?

Discussion in 'US' started by titan, May 30, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Rangers and British Paras - SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network

Now I'm no expert on the US Rangers by any means but have looked into doing the all arms p coy and studied what p coy entails and how good the paras actually are compared to the rest of the army and I simply can't see the americans being that much better than the paras like the american in the link describes.

Any thoughts?

(oh and I know it's an old link, still same principle applies though)
  2. well as they can actually air drop and be supplied by air the points rather moot.
    how good do you have to be when you have more money and kit than everybody else put together
  3. Please hold the line, an expert will be along shortly
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Although US Rangers have an airborne element, they're more akin to army commandoes, as the British had in WW2. It makes more sense to compare our paras to US airborne units (eg 82nd Ariborne Division) although , of course, our units are far superior!
  5. Do the Rangers go around calling everybody else 'hats'? Or is this peculiar to our own Lords of the Rollmat.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. All the Paras I've met are good at what they do. Same with Rangers. Paras tend to be more rough and ready. I think this is an advantage in the battle space. I think they tend to be able to put up with more discomfort and hardship. As with all Brit inf....
    Anyone who came up against either would be in the poo IMO.......
    So I reckon the paras by a whisker. I am biased though.
  7. ya hey - this'll be good (if any paras can be bothered to join in)