Urban operations

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by i_love_ftorres, Jan 6, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening all, quick question.

In a thesis on three difficulties in operating effectively in an urban environment using a historical illustration is it absolutely mental to leave out the presence of non combatants and associated ROE.

At present i've got effects of 3-D operating environment, intense nature of urban combat with associated psychological and physical stress and importance of small unit cohesion, morale, training. It's just my background is the battle of grozny, and by most accounts the ruskies weren't exactly switching from red to green too often.

I am aware though western armies would place a slightly higher importance to it, so if you had to pick three reasons what would they be?

2. jim24

jim24 Book Reviewer

Say again, this time in English

3. Tankie2ndrtr

Tankie2ndrtr Old-Salt Reviewer

*Looks around for an adult*

Your asking for three reasons why you should include presence of non combatants and associated ROE In a thesis?

Or three reasons to take into account the presence of noncombatants and ROE etc to ensure the effectiveness of operations in an urban environment?

god confused myslef typing that...

4. If you were to list from 1-3 in terms of importance do you think you could omit the presence of non combatants and the associated ROE. Or is it of such paramount and fundamental importance to operating effectively in Urban environments that it has to be included.

5. Tankie2ndrtr

Tankie2ndrtr Old-Salt Reviewer

I think it should be included...