Upper Body

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Alexis, Aug 30, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, i have my running under control at the moment. I need to crack on with my upper body strength now. Again, this will be the first time i'll be doing upper body work, i was wondering considering i am new at this how should i start off? What would you reccommend? I do have access to a gym, although naming the machines would be :? to me. How about the rowing machine, does that help at all? Oh and i am female i'm afraid so obviously no bodybuidling stuff. If you can help, thanks alot anyway :D

2. Hi,
    Quick question - What are you intending to build your upper body strength up for? For assessment or just because you wish to?

Any form of resistance machine in the gym would be a good start, chest press, fly machine, bicep curls. You want to work at a weight where you can do up to 15 reps in one go but not much more, wait for a minute or two,m then go again.

Rowing machines are fantastic as they work your upper body, torso, legs and CV all at once.

If you have a specific target to achieve (ie. x press ups in x minutes) then the only way to do it is to start doing them. When I was training for RCB I built up my press ups and sit ups by doing 15, then rest a minute, then my max, rest a minute, another 15.

Hope this helps

MotM

3. Howdo Alexis,