Up the Ante in Iraq

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by TartanTerror, May 6, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Would just like to say how sorry I am, with the deaths resulting from the crash of a British Helicopter in Basra, God rest the souls of those brave guys who have gave the ultimate.

There are so many issues in Iraq now that make the public question why we are still there, or in fact why we ever went in the first place. However as a British Soldier I don’t question why I am sent somewhere I just get on with it, kiss the wife goodbye rub the kids heads give them a kiss walk away then hope to fcuk that I come back.

But watching the news today I was disgusted to hear things along the lines of, yeah the British troops don’t fire back because they are in fear of prosecution back in the UK by the Government who sent them there in the first place.

That they will not fire except if their lives are in danger, are these rules of engagement not the same as the rules we use when we go on guard in lovely little places in Germany and the UK etc.

Iraq is still a volatile place that requires ROE, which represent that fact, rubber bullets yeah wonderful, but what do you do when hundreds to thousands of people are baying for your blood.

It’s sad to see the Warriors getting used as targets for bricks and petrol bombs, as a CR2 Commander I know how effective Warrior is, and to see it being used as a either a road block or taxi to escape Iraqi's throwing whatever they have at hand , to be honest disgusts me.

These people took great pleasure in what happened today, as far as I am concerned a message has to be sent to the people of Basra and Iraq in general, or British and American Troops will keep on being used as falling plates.