Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Thebigone, Sep 12, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently a student at Loughborough Uni and at the end of my degree i am seriously considering a career in the army.

Therefore i thought it would be a good idea to get involved now even if it just to get some basic army experience...etc

However i do not know whether to chose a 'normal' TA unit or the UOTC, they way i have had it explained is that the UOTC in terms of pay and deployment possiblity is a 'lesser unit' whereas in the TA you get paid a little more and from what i understand you are required to attend more.

In terms of what i would like to do, i would be looking mainly at a combat infantry unit and tbh even though i would like to go to Sandhurst i would not be bothered if i was just rifleman, its more the experience i am looking for. I also would like the possibilty of deployment as my degree course does allow for a year out.

My only concern about joing the TA is that in the summer i will be at home in south cheshire so could ideally do with a unit somewhere between the 2 so i can get there in both the summer and winter.

Anyone got any ideas?

2. Simple really.
    Want your leg over - join the OTC
    Want to soldier - join the TA

Given that the last time I worked at LU the Male:Female ratio was 7:1, you may find that a difficult call to make.
  3. Hahaha that is true and also bear in mind that half the women there also look oddly like men.

Although i've never had any problems getting my leg over :D
  4. No but seriously has anyone got any suggestions?