UOTC Musician

Discussion in 'OTC' started by martija1, Nov 22, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently in my first year of OTC training and hope to commission in my second year. After lots of reflection and thinking, I've decided that I want a role that is more humanitarian aid oriented and being a musician I have realised that joining a musical regiment would make a lot of sense. I’m just wondering, would I have to surrender my commission to transfer or could I keep it if I prove diligence. Also, does anyone know of the frequency of FTRS and tour opportunities given to TA musicians?

2. Bagpipe playing is the way to go..then you can do a 'Bill Millin' in a 'sandy place'
  3. You may need to consider the Navy, but even they are limited in the instruments that they take on ops. Hydrophones, maybe?

Alternatively, you could try the Yeomanry. Grand Piano (T)?

You could also try that other Army, the one that's neither Regular nor Territorial. Salvation, I believe it's called.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. He said humanitarian.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Before I start: Is this a Wah? ...... (shield up)

Firstly, you will NOT commission. You may, however, be commissioned.

Secondly. No, this must be a Wah. Joining the Army for humanitarian reasons? Errr, computor says no.

A musical regiment? WTF? Do you particulary like singing? If so, join a Welsh battalion (do it quickly whilst we've still got some), I hear they like singing.

Some Infantry Battalions retain a Corps of Drums - but they are normally the SF Machine Gun Platoon, so not very humanitarian - if you fancy playing the fife, drum or bugle.

Lastly, there is now a thing call the Corps of Army Music (CAMUS). However, to my certain knowledge, to hold a commission in it one has to have come up through the ranks of the band. Corps of Army Music - British Army Website