University discounts for Ex-Servicemen?

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by Tactical_Ted, Sep 17, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm 26 and have been in the REME eight years. I am gradually getting more and more tired of repeatedly being let down for courses/tours and have hit a wall in respects of career advancement. Knowing where I sit in the opinion of the Corps I am now looking to leave and go to University. I have heard rumours that the government will provide large discounts for Ex-Servicemen and also that "mature students" recieve cheaper fees. Can somebody please confirm or deny these claims?

2. I can't comment on discounts for ex-servicemen, but i'm a mature student and have always paid the same tuition fees as everyone else. The only difference is, you may be entitled to a larger student loan/grant due to be an independent applicant - and even more money if you have dependants.

3. Again, cant say about ex-service but being over 21 you have greater access to cash - "career development loan" for example and the restrictions on what you can study are far less. Best of luck
  4. msr

msr LE

5. As the above have said, no discounts on Uni courses (that I'm aware of) but you should have access to additional funding. Also, depending on the sort of course you'll be studying there are bursaries available from both the universities and other agencies which might cover your fees, then a student loan and part-time job might provide you with enough to live on. Your advisors may be getting confused with resettlement courses provided by civilian agencies which may appear to be "discounted" or "cheap". Ask the resettlement officer for advice.