University and the TA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by JayCam, Jun 16, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently a second year university student (so OTC is out of the question and I dont want to do that anyway) who is considering joining the TA. The only thing is though, if I got mobilised before summer of 2007 it would completely mess up my degree and would be a waste of several thousand pounds and 2 years hard work.

Is this something I need to worry about or is there a way around it? Of course by joining the TA i expect to be mobilised at some point but is there someway to not be mobilised until I have finished my degree?

Thanks in advance for any input/advice anyone here has I would appreciate it.

J.

2. I sense another Wiki page/addition to the FAQ's coming on.

You will not be mobilised while you are a student.

3. Plus second year is to all intents and purposes over. It will take you a good year to do your training, by which time you will be finished. Give it some thlught as to whether you will have the time or would be better off concentrating on your degree and doing the training after. Depends on your degree really.

4. If you've not even joined yet, then there is very little chance of you being mobilised before you finish your degree in any case. By the time, you've gone through all the admin involved in joining, then recruit training and then CIC/trade training in all liklihood you will have finished you degree before then anyway. One thing I would say is that training can be quite intensive and make sure you take enough time in your final year to do well in your degree. I was fully trained by the time I got to my final year so was able to miss a few weekends during finals. But its recruit weekends, you need to go on then it will be more difficult. I would consider waiting until i had finished uni.