Uni then Sandhurst or Sandhurst straight after A Levels?

MPetts

Crow
I am currently in my final year of secondary school and in a few years i want to become an officer in the Scots Guards. the problem is i don't know whether i should go to university and get a degree after college and then go to Sandhurst or if i should join the British Army straight from college. Please can those you that have been in similar positions or that are or were officers in the army help me make an informed decision?

Edit: if i go to university i will join the army reserves as a reserve officer in the 4th Battalion Duke of Lancaster's regiment so i can get first hand experience as an infantry officer.

Last edited:
Thinking ahead...

If you are commissioned, you will at some stage retire from HM Armed Forces.

When that day comes, as good as it will be to be a former Officer, it will be even better to be a former Officer with a degree.

Others will be able to give more sage advice, I only ever went to RMAS to use the ranges...

University!!! Exactly the same as your parents will tell you.

Every man and his dog is getting a degree nowadays so do not reduce your career progression, or future job prospect chances by not having one in your back pocket.

I studied as a mature student after I left the army, a great time was had, I did a post-grad course straight after and then followed that with a Masters Degree. Many of the kid's on my Masters Degree had jumped straight from their first degree to a masters degree to get the added kudos. One of the lads was planning on joining the Navy as an officer and yet still did a masters because he knew it would help him as he climbed the greasy career pole. He has subsequently done very well for himself enjoying an interesting career and good promotion.

1. Go to university.
2. Join the University Officer Training Corps............that way you will see if you even like the life and they may even give you a bursary for uni.