Uni/TA Dilemna, Need a hand

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by WhiskeySwiper, Jul 23, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok guys,

I'm a third year BA student at Swansea University and I've decided finally to join the TA, to see if the army is definately for me in the long term.

I've just got one problem - my Masters.

I had planned to do a part-time Masters Degree with the TA part time (go in as soldier) and pretty set on the infantry. But this would take 2-3 years of my life, and I could do a 1 year Masters and go straight into the Regs.

Option 1: Join TA this year, and do a part-time Masters over 2/3 years with the TA over that time.
    Option 2: Finish BA, 1 Year Masters and then join Regs.
    Option 3. Join TA, finish BA, 1 year masters then whatever...

Since I have to apply for Masters when I get back in September-December time (with my course duration in mind) I really need to make a decision soon as I dont want to bollocks up my BA to do all the training this year or bollocks up my training to do my BA.

Anyone got any advice on what to do, I've discussed it with a fair number of chaps in the past and am stringly leaning towards Option 1 atm - but some experienced opinions is what I'm really looking for. Much appreciated guys.
  2. msr

msr LE

Finish your degree first, then take a decision.

3. Option 2 or 3 sounds best. Do the masters in a year, join the TA in that time if you feel you can fit it in around your studies. Do AOSB after that.