UK Transport Crisis?

Possibly a bit of a spin off from Coronavirus and Brexit threads but there is an interesting problem developing this week on chilled and frozen food distribution.

I am a transport manager in chilled food distribution for a mid sized producer, I've just taken my second call this week from contacts in the industry desperate for help in distribution
Our purchasing department has also just been obliged to ask our tranport department for help in collecting inward bound goods from our suppliers

As the country emerges from lockdown there is a desperate shortage of HGV drivers and supplies are now failing with delays in deliveries already up to 4 days.
It's going to get worse of the next week or two.

Two primary causes are Brexit and Coronavirus, thousands of eastern european drivers went home because of Coronavirus (many given no work and no furlough) and they aren't coming back

Be prepared for panic buying chaps, your avacado's and lettuce is going to get a bit thin on the shelves......

ugly

LE
Not helped by lack of driver tests due to lockdown, a mate has been waiting for his hgv theory test for nearly a year

Polyester

War Hero
Possibly a bit of a spin off from Coronavirus and Brexit threads but there is an interesting problem developing this week on chilled and frozen food distribution.

I am a transport manager in chilled food distribution for a mid sized producer, I've just taken my second call this week from contacts in the industry desperate for help in distribution
Our purchasing department has also just been obliged to ask our tranport department for help in collecting inward bound goods from our suppliers

As the country emerges from lockdown there is a desperate shortage of HGV drivers and supplies are now failing with delays in deliveries already up to 4 days.