UK petrol prices continue to rise

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by PartTimePongo, Sep 5, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4215346.stm

I'm confused, but I know some of you oil experts can answer this. Just why are UK prices going up?

2. I'm not an oil expert PTP but from my very rudimentary understanding of business I believe it comes down to the market stability and the perceptions therein.

With any major crisis comes a good amount of upheaval and by extension investors will get worried in the various markets. This could lead to an increased aquisition of resources to weather out the storm, no pun intended. So the stockpiles will be developed.

I also remember seeing a chart online which tracked the cost of oil barrels in proportion to various world events or a bad nature. Every time something bad happens, the prices rise.

It could also be OPEC being greedy but they come across as a quite sensible group to me. Especially when you bare in mind the prices they could go up to in proportion to the amount of the worlds oil they control.

3. Buggered if I know but Diesel hit 99.9/litre here today.
    Also, why are there so many Supertankers anchored up & full of oil, that there aren't any available to move some of the European Strategic Reserve to the US?
    Greed by the Oil Companies must play a part - they're already coining it in from the more than doubling of their "cut" of the wellhead prices.
    The Chancellor is getting an extra 3p/litre in VAT.

4. Some petrol pumps are being tweaked as they only go up to 99.99 pence!