UK Pension taxed despite living overseas?

Discussion in 'Living Overseas' started by opsmeister, Apr 6, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Gents,

I have left the military and I am now enjoying the perks of tax free live in Dubai (as with anything good bits and bad bits). I am a resident and my UK tax code has been adjusted to make sure that my new salary isnt ripped away from my hands. I asked my accountant (a man wholly unfamiliar with the military) as to whether or not I could get my UK pension tax free as well. It seems fair to me. I am not able to enjoy any of the perks of being a tax payer, so why should one salary be tax free and the other not. He tells me, for reasons I do not entirely understand, that I cannot be tax free on my pension.

Do any of the wise out there know if this is true? I want to believe him, but I thought I would check to see if there is anyone in the same boat who thinks other wise?

Many thanks

OM

2. Pension income earned in UK, therefore taxed in UK.

3. The tax man doesn't give a fig where you are. He is only interested in where the money comes from and in the case of money paid to you from HMG then he is going to tax it.

Can't remember the rate but it is only a couple of quid a month normally.

4. All depends on what your total UK earnings are:

When you reach State Pension age you no longer pay National Insurance contributions, but you don't automatically stop paying Income Tax. If your UK taxable income such as income from renting a property, investments, including your pensions is more than your tax-free allowances you're still a taxpayer.

Normaly a State Pension by itself is lower than your tax-free allowances, but if you also have a Occupational and/or a Service Pension this may well put you into the Tax Paying Bracket.

All you need to know from DirectGov: