Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

UK acquires fleet of autonomous ground vehicles - why?

So DSTL have purchased a fleet of these vehicles in order to test and evaluate them;

To me this technology seems like a self licking lollipop for defence companies where they will provide solutions to something I’m unconvinced is a problem (I.e. the need to remove a driver from the resupply chain and therefor danger) which will then be tested, found wanting and then put through the design cycle for the next fleet of prototypes.

all the while spending more and more of the defence budget on a problem we seemed to have no problem solving 80 years ago.

If it’s not obvious yet I’m not much of a fan of this technology but I’m aware that I’m an ex-TA lance Jack/ engineer who doesn’t even work in defence so I’m open to the very real possibility that I’m missing something, so answers on a postcard please. Why are we spending money on this? Where do we see this technology taking us should it work? If we accept that soldiers die in war then what are the benefits over manned systems? Are the cost differences between manned and unmanned systems as significant as I imagine they are?

pretty of successful and intelligent people seem to think these are a great idea, so what am I missing?

all the while spending more and more of the defence budget on a problem we seemed to have no problem solving 80 years ago.
Its a step up from mules and horses ;-)

To save Army recruiting, retention and fitness problems.

infamy.jpg

To paraphrase KW - "Autonomy, autonomy, they've all got autonomy"

Cos it's sexy innit. And because its "unmanned" it'll save money, obviously.*

*Large parts of this may not be true......

View attachment 457087