UDR Pictures

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Hussar1000, Jul 31, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My credentials are: ex-UDR and ex-Queen's Royal Irish Hussars. I served between 1978 and 1986. I'm now a graduate with a technical degree and I'm in my third year of studies with the OU aiming for an honours degree in history.

I'm a bit knackered now because I copped a good injury up in the Mournes in 1979 so to pass my times I've been updating the UDR Wikipedia article at Ulster Defence Regiment - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia and the individual battalion histories which can be accessed from List of battalions and locations of the Ulster Defence Regiment - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I'm doing this with the support and help of the Regimental Association.

What I'm really short of is photographs. Everything from the battalions has been archived and, as usual, that's sealed for 30 years so I can get nothing from the National Archives - nothing free anyway and my War Pension doesn't extend to buying them.

I'd like to ask anyone who has pictures of their service life in the regiment if they'd consider donating them to me for use in the articles. Anything that's battalion specific, right down to platoon numbers etc would be brilliant because that's where I've got the most difficulties. No names needed and faces can be masked if necessary - I'm getting to be a dab hand with the oul Photoshop.