TV Legal Programme - do you need a lawyer

Discussion in 'Armed Forces Redundancy Scheme 2010' started by Anna TV Producer, Mar 3, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm writing from Tiger Aspect - Tiger Aspect - where I am a producer. We will be filming a programme following a panel of legal aspects aiming to resolve a wide range of cases we bring to them.

As 10,000 military redundancies have just been announced I am hoping to find out if any ARRSE members have been laid off, and if so, whether they want to talk to a lawyer about it. I have also read news articles that predict many seriously injured soldiers, even amputees, will soon be out of work too - is this the case?

I'm purely at research stage so all calls treated in strictest confidence.
    My DL is 020 7529 9549 or email annabonaddio@tigeraspect.co.uk.

2. Is it worth pointing out that soldiers/officers aren't going to be told if they are made compulsorily redundant until Sept 2011? Probably not...

3. Yes - there is now a process where soldiers who are no longer fit for service, which includes those injured on operations, are being discharged. This process, for the injured, doesn't kick in until their treatment has reached a certain point. It is all to do with the "Army Recovery Capability" and the formal policy statement is (or was, late last year):

4. Those were people on extended service - rolling annual contracts. Retained for their experience but on an "as needed" basis. A stupid, unpleasant way to break the news - but a mistake (the sender of the email thought that they had already been told, face to face, that this was coming), as happens in many organisations.