Trouble with landlord

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by willbilly, Mar 26, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi chaps,

I'm currently an Undergraduate Bursar living with five other civvie students down South and we are having a bit of trouble with our landlord, if any of you could offer some advice then it would be very much appreciated.

The trouble started when we moved in last September and turned up to find the house hadn't been cleaned and was occupied by one of the landlords friends who wanted to stay for an extra week after our tenancy had begun for free. Obviously we refused and as an apology the landlord agreed to take money off that months rent as well as sort out the problems we had identified with the property such as rubbish in the back garden and some problems with the furniture provided in some of the rooms.

However a couple of months later very few of the problems had actually been fixed and those that had were done in a very half-arsed way, we complained to the landlord and the letting agent who had put us onto the property but very little was done and at the request of some of my fellow housemates we dropped the matter given that the house was in a livable condition. Unfortunantly following this the problems began to mount up with very little action being taken by the landlord even when we complained of leaks, damp, black mould, sewage build up, mice and electrical issues.