Troops deployed on Britain's streets.

I was a soldier once, and among other deployments I served three tours in Northern Ireland; I, and many of my colleagues, all sworn to the defence of our country found that a deeply unsettling experience to be deployed against supposedly British citizens. The reported contingency plan that in support of a no-deal brexit soldiers sworn to defend this country should be deployed on the streets of mainland Britain against its own population might very well result in open rebellion in some units. We haven't seen such deployment since the Peterloo massacre in 1819, which is generally accepted to have been a Bad Idea. Is this really a risk worth taking just to support one woman's self-aggrandising pig-headedness?

Goatman

ADC
Book Reviewer
Get your face out of the Guardian,stop reading Twitter and go for a slow coffee in Tescos....listening to the people around you will be more grounding than anything you read online

A2_Matelot

LE
Book Reviewer
I was a soldier once, and among other deployments I served three tours in Northern Ireland; I, and many of my colleagues, all sworn to the defence of our country found that a deeply unsettling experience to be deployed against supposedly British citizens. The reported contingency plan that in support of a no-deal brexit soldiers sworn to defend this country should be deployed on the streets of mainland Britain against its own population might very well result in open rebellion in some units. We haven't seen such deployment since the Peterloo massacre in 1819, which is generally accepted to have been a Bad Idea. Is this really a risk worth taking just to support one woman's self-aggrandising pig-headedness?

I think you're over thinking this. Service Personnel to help sort out traffic queues, Service Personnel at points of entry and Service Personnel to help get stores/supplies into the UK are what they are considering.

Joker62

ADC
Book Reviewer