Treatment for Depression

Discussion in 'Charities and Welfare' started by bigpod, Mar 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. In m last job I frequently saw people receive simple medication for depression, often very successfully.

I am now seeing a few serving soldiers who I FEEL (I'm no doctor) would benefit from medication, but they are all scared to present to the MO with depression. They are not just clinically fed-up. They don't want time off or sympathy, just to be able to work without the feelings depression causes.

Can a serving soldier get medicated without it affecting their career?

2. NICE guidelines advise that mild depression should be treated with talking therapies and not medication.

However if a serving soldier does require medication, it will have implications as current guidelines suggest a period of medical downgrading is required.

3. My bold. I think that should read "may". Remember, guidelines are exactly what they say on the tin - guidelines.
  4. Certainly councelling and learning coping techniques can help a lot, and mainstream antidepressants are perhaps not the best things for an active serviceman to be taking.

There are some who suggest the taking of St Johns Wort can help and this is available on supermarket shelves.

What ever depression mild or otherwise is not something which should be left untreated.

5. St. John's Wort is , according to some research, no better than placebo. It also reacts badly with lots of other medications and reduces their effectiveness. Females who are on the contraceptive pill shouldn't go near St. John's Wort as it dramatically reduces the pill's effects.

There are no proper clinical trials that prove its effectiveness hence the reason it isn't prescribed by Consultants, GPs, nurses et al