Army Rumour Service

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Treating myself to a new shotgun. Suggestions?

The_Duke

LE
I am hitting a milestone birthday later this year, and think I will treat myself to a new shotgun.

I shot AYA SxS for years (12 and 20 bore, 26” barrels) but after a serious drop off in performance from mediocre to downright abysmal I switched to OU with 32” barrels (Bettinsoli, £1k to test whether I got on with it). Confidence increased, scores up.

Usual shooting is clays once or twice per month, a few beat one/shoot one days per season.

The William Powell Perdix has caught my eye, but I have no experience of others to compare it to.

Budget up to £5k (ish). Any suggestions?

Budget up to £5k (ish). Any suggestions?

Caveat: I'm not a shotgun user at any more than a rare occasion, so this may be utterly inappropriate and based on true ignorance - but have you considered getting yourself an adjustable stock, so that you can fine-tune the fit, as your position and technique develops/changes with age and experience? Or (Heaven forfend) pass it on to firstborn/beloved so you can buy a new one?

Having had this conversation with several fullbore target shooters (of the old-school "but a 7.62 action in a hand-carved log is traditional! Even if I do have to tape stuff to the cheekpiece because it doesn't fit!" variety) I suppose it depends on whether you'd rather pay for either fancy engraving or performance :)

360px-Vincent_Hancock_Rio_2016.jpg

Last edited:

Drs634

Swinger
For an over under the Beretta Silver Pigeon is constantly extremely well reviewed whilst being substantially within budget. I’m not sure if you can get 32” barrels but you can certainly get 30”.