Transferring to the int corps

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by Jock_Bhoy, Jan 9, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been with the British Army for 3 years now as part of the Royal Corps of Signals, but am looking to transfer to the Int Corps. I would be grateful if someone could help me with answers to the following questions, bearing in mind that i'm a soldier, not an officer.

1. How long is my transfer likely to take?

2. Are there married quarters available for Phase 2 training?

3. I hope to become a Linguist. After my language training am i likely to do back to back tours or have quiet postings?

4. Is the fact that my wife is German and her parents both Polish likely to affect my detailed vetting in any way?

Thanks in advance

2. Very hard to transfer to Int Corps as a tom. If you are a LCpl it makes it easier, you need a good spread of education quals.
    Phase 2 trainees can occupy quarters as the language course is about 18 months long.

Not sure how you stand in regards to developed vetting. Speak to your RCMO dunno where you are so couldn't tell you who it is, PM me and I'll try and help.

3. In answer to your questions:

1. Depends on a combination of your unit and the Int Corps selection procedure. Transferees aren't usually accepted until the DV process is completed - or not, see below.

2. Yes, but you'll be the lowest priority, and would only have a chance if you're on a long language course.

3. Depends on your language and inclination.

4. Shouldn't be a problem about your wife, but your arrse name indicates you are an Irish Repubilican sympathiser! Did you catch the match yesterday?

4. Cheers for the advice op_int_and_spy, howay_the_lads

Reference your comment on question 4 op_int_and_spy, wouldn't go as far to say Irish Republican Sympathiser,