Transferring to RMP from Royal Signals

Discussion in 'AGC, RAPTC and SASC' started by NSE72, May 14, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all. I'm very aware you've had these questions loads of times so I'll try and get to the point. I'm an Electronic Warfare Systems Operator but I'm wanting to transfer to the RMP. I'll probably bring it up to my chain of command in about a years time. Main reason being I don't see many properly transferrable skills in my current job and I want to be a civvy copper when that fateful day comes. I have the academic quals required however my main questions are:

How easy would it be to transfer for someone in a pinch-point trade like myself?

How long does the transfer process take from start to finish (I'm aware its very case-by-case but just a rough estimate will do)

Who do I approach for such a thing? I've never had to do anything like this and have no experience, I assume I just start with my troopie?

Regarding the troopie, he isn't the easiest person to work with. My main fear being that he'll chin me off with some spiel like 'stop thinking about the f**king RMP and concentrate on your job.' Who should I move to in such a case?

Sorry for any questions that may seem bone to you old sweats, just interested!

Thanks all.

2. Serious questions:

1. Why do you think you'd be happier as an RMP?
    2. Why do you think being RMP would help you get in the civvy plod?