Transferring from Royal Signals to RA

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by iLoveYourMumDrunk, Jan 20, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

Just abit of backround information. I just returned from Herrick 12 where I had worked alongside the FST of 4th Reg. I came away realising how shitty my job was and I am keen to transfer. I would like to go 4th Reg preferably as I enjoyed the company of the lads whilst on tour.

I am a class 2 radio operator in the signals so the trade training shouldn't be a problem. I am thinking about doing my class 1 in the signals and what I am wondering how this will fare to my transfer, wether it will make a difference or not?

And also what is the course like? and if anyone has transfered to become an FST from any other capbadge I would enjoy reading upon your expierience.

Sorry for that bombardment of questions, I just don't want to dive into the darkness not knowing what I'm doing here.

2. It depends how "warry" you want to be - you could volunteer for 4/73 Bty and don't need to be a gunner.

As for transfer to RA, I don't know how Class 2 Rad Op converts to GCS qualifications. You mention your class 1 - again, I don't know where this sits. Also - are you a Signaller (i.e. not NCO yet?) and how long have you been in. It could be that the less time the better, as less to undo, but it could be that there are no gaps for unqualified guys.

Best bet is to talk to your RCMO (any chance of doing that without feeling like it will go nowhere?) and asking if he can put you on to a Gunner careers type. They will be able to advise on exactly what you would need to do to convert and if there are any vacancies. You may find that requesting a specific regiment will go out the window and youu'll be sent where they need you most.