Transfering to Canadian Signals

Discussion in 'Royal Signals' started by clayhead, Feb 17, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Not sure if this one has ever been covered but does anyone know if its possible or if if anyone has done it?

Im considering the idea and just wondering how to go about it.
  2. I think you will find that you now need to hold Canadian nationality to join. Which entails a min of 3 years residency. However I stand by to be corrected.....
  3. I've looked into Aus / NZ & Canada - Canada is a no go as HueyRat said
  4. You can transfer, I know someone at SO2 level who is just about to make the jump. If you can do it at that level, it will be across the board.

5. A while ago the Canadians weren't recruiting but they now are again.
  6. As I am a Royal Engineer who is transferring to the canadian engineers, (albeit, I'm a canadian citizen already, so it's easier), I get asked alot what the process is like.

They will give you credit for all your qualifications/rank gained so far, but bear in mind there MAY be a requirement for attendance on certain phases of their training, simply to learn the kit/procedures etc. For example, I have to go to Gagetown for 2-3 weeks to make up for something I wasn't trained for in the Royal Engineers.

As for nationality, I won't lie, at the moment you need to be a canadian citizen, which as previously stated takes 3 years. However, and please take this with a large grain of salt, I heard from the careers office which was processing my application that they were thinking of removing the need to be a citizen, in the case of commonwealth trained personnel, ie ex HM Forces, aussies, kiwi's etc. But I have sent an e-mail to said careers office asking if this had in fact changed, and am awaiting a reply.