Transfering as an officer from TA to Regular

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Woof, Feb 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Has anyone seen or heard of this happening?

I have heard a rumour that you can get 'taken' on by the regulars during an Op Tour or after an S Type engagement.

Do you have to go to Sandhurst for the full 44 weeks or can you be taken straight in as a Lt??? I have heard of TA Cpls going regular and remaining as Cpls.

The reason I ask is that I am currently an officer in the TA and I have been recommended to go regular, what I am unclear about is whether I resign my TA commission and go to RCB, RMAS etc or whether I can transfer in?? :?:

Any thoughts, advice or guidance greatly received.

2. At the moment it appears that there is only one route to gaining a regular comission and that is to do the full commisioning course. You could just do an awful lot of FTRS or other such roles but there is no back door so to speak. If you have your commission confirmed then there is atleast no need to do RCB. If mobilisation of subbies picks up we could end up with former TA LT's at sandhurst who've been in combat for real with gongs on the parade square n everything 8O.

There have been mumblings from various bde training wings that something will come about where a commission is a commission and officers are all the same, meaning more reg officers in TA units for parts of their careers and more TA in the regs. Not sure how that would work though. They've been talking about it for years anyway.

3. Interesting question about RCB and RMAS. I know that if you have passed RCB & RMAS then you don't need to go to TCB if you joined the TA, even if you never attended Sandhirst. Not that it's massively important, but I can't see how the RCB would ask questions like 'why do you want a commission' if you already have one.