TRANSFER TO GUNNER OBSERVATION POST ASSISTANT

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by sy-guy, Nov 21, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just need a bit of advice. im a serving soldier in AMS and im bored with being a semi REMF, looking for a more combat role, would it be worth transfering to a OP assitant? oh im 27 and a full screw!! thanks

2. Questions

1. Are you regular or TA

if reg then are you interested in either

1. OP

2. Special OP

(the links in the previous post ar for Special OP)

Whatever the circumstance its a great job

3. Or give 148 Commando Forward Observation Bty goprobably (and with no disrepect to 4/73) the best job in the artillery!! You certainly won't find a better challenge outside of UKSF Ltd!

Downside is you may have to revert on completion of your courses! However high pay bracket and para pay may help with that!

If you interested PM me and I will find out where the instructions are for applying i been out the unit for 2 years!

4. thank so far guys. for welly head im regular and at the moment im interested in normal op assistant.

5. Thought as much, whenever other arms and OP pops up its usually for the more "special" roles. that involves lots and lots of tabbing

27, full screw non RA, you'll have a problem mate unless you are prepared to drop at least one rank, its nothing to do with whether you would be wanted, its just the powers that be will block it for money reasons (cost to train you lost, cost to retrain you added)

Also I very much doubt they will let you saunter in nd do OP's as its one job tht is pretty much covered, in my day, swings lantern, you would be sent to a Gun Battery and then they would choose where to stick you on the ORBAT, not sure if that happens anymore.