Tranexamic Acid

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by Sparky71, Jan 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

I wonder if someone out there in RAMC land would be willing to help me out with something? I'm a student paramedic (and serving sTAb, but Gunner cap badged, please don't hold that against me...) and I'm writing a paper on the feasibility of introducing Tranexamic acid into ambulance service use. I think I've managed to find most of the information I need, but I haven't yet been able to find anything on how the RAMC is currently using Tranexamic acid in the field. For example, do you guys have a 'JRCALC' style aide memoire detailing indications, contraindications, cautions, dosages etc???

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Sparky

2. Our trust is rolling it out to all paramedics.
    I have just signed the pgd .
    It was just for the critical care paramedics but now all paras are getting it.
    We also now have activated charcoal and getting iv paracetamol too.

3. Yeah, have just this afternoon discovered the SWAS PGD for it, which probably gives me everything I was looking for. However this seems quite forward thinking so am not expecting my own service to be following anytime soon, and I think my paper should stand for at least a few years yet!

Activated charcoal and IV parac make a lot of sense too, and would do for my own service given some of the transfer to hospital times we incur. Can't imagine there are too many contraindications for the lovely charcoal beverage!

4. Bizzarely we received charcoal before paracetamol. Jrcalc have just agreed to iv paracetamol. All we have is entonox and morphine/oramorph. So iv paracetamol will be useful in treating pain and pyrexia