Training to work in broadcasting

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by bob_cat, Jul 28, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Excuse the marketing but I think it might help someone here with their future and I believe thats the purpose of this area.

Hi ladies and gents,

I've been directed here by a relative who uses arrse and I thought it would be nice to see if anyone was interested. I come from the broadcast engineering field and have mainly worked in telecommunications for broadcasting. But I originally trained as a broadcast engineer and that is now what I have returned to teach. I am now a senior lecturer in broadcast media technology, and I teach what is called a Foundation Degree in Science: Broadcast Media Technology (FdSc:BMT). It takes two years full-time and you get a recognised foundation degree (to be viewed much like an HND) at the end of it. There is also an optional BSc top-up year to get a full degree.

I am posting here because of a lack of awareness of this subject, lots of people these days want to be in front of the camera and there is also a long line of people wanting to be just behind the camera, but there is a distinct lack of people who want to make it all happen. In technology terms it's really interesting and practical, completely hands on applied engineering. We teach pleanty of engineering theory (from the very basics so no one is excluded) and we show the students how to apply that knowledge to solving real broadcast challenges.