Trainee Journalist seeks thoughts on future of TA

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Dan_10v11, May 29, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apologies for gatecrashing this thread. My name is Daniel Bennett. I'm a trainee journalist at the University of Sheffield doing an MA in Broadcast journalism and am an interested outside observer. I'm very interested in this thread, as it raises a lot of issues around the changing nature of the TA.

I'd like to know whether you think what is being posted on this thread means that the TA is effectively going to be stealthily phased out given OAR, regular and TA integration and the reliance of the Army on TA operations. Is this the beginning of the end of the TA as we know it today?

I was also wondering if anyone would be willing to be interviewed about their life in the TA, particularly commenting on recent changes under FAS.

I've got to do a ten minute TV or radio documentary and want to do something on the armed forces as I've done a lot of prevous historical research into the British Army in WW1 and WW2.

I should point out that it won't be broadcast anywhere though I can obviously make it even more anonymous if need be. Please email mail@dsbennett.co.uk if you are interested.

2. You might do better approaching your local unit (we are not supposed to talk directly to the press or others).

This is a link to the main unit in Sheffield 38 Signal Regiment

3. Thats slightly unhelpful.

Dan - you really are a trainee journalist aren't you ?

A few basic rules:

a. Don't blow your cover straightaway - you need to become an accomplished liar if you're ever going to get a job with a decent paper like the Daily Mirror for example.

b. Decide what conclusion you want to come to.

c. Select some quotes which support your conclusion.