Tradesmen or maybe not

Discussion in 'Sappers' started by Oggy69, Mar 25, 2002.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Why do we outsource so much trade related work to civvy contractors?

I came back from a tour once only to find that the block had flooded with turds while we were away.

We had guys wanting to fix the bogs who were plumbers by trade, but weren't allowed to touch the toilets because it was a civvy's responsibilty and god help us if we did.

It always gets me why we have to send our guys on trade refresher training every time they go on tour.
    They should be doing this sort of thing all the time and I don't just mean building unloading bays/barbeques/plynths for Sqn plaques as a favour for someone.

We should have tradesmen that work on rotation through a garrison support unit and not pay through the nose for civvies.

2. The reasons could be many, including that like many other cap badges there are too many deployments for the available units. Many of the Engineer units don't have the manpower to look after the equipment it has, while at the same time doing pre-tour trg, tours and then fitting in the leave and required career courses. adding time to practice trades unless they are going to be needed is just a waste of time.

Trade fade is one aspect that the people in Whitehall don't like to bother about because its easier to have engineer works and articifer trade trg seperate. Sh*t they are under different budgets! You'll cause no end of paperwork and problems if you try to mix them.

Another reason is that it may be deemed as logical, and as such wouldn't fit in to the 'suits' method of operation. If in fact its even in their dictionary.

:eek: :eek: :eek:  "Cinic alert! Cinic alert!"   :eek: :eek: :eek: