Tour of somewhere sandy

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by edd1989, Oct 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Little background

As my username suggests I'm 19 years old and I am currently trying to join my local TA infantry unit. Last year I was applying to become an Officer in the Royal Marines and after passing a significant part of the selection process I was failed due to "lack of life experience". Being the age I am and given the fact the perfect candidate is 21-23 and has been through University I believe I’ve done quite well and I will remain proud of how far I got for a long time.

Since I failed I got a full-time job, a car and have moved out from my parents (girlfriend). Currently I am studying a course at a University (yes I’m a stoodent) far from my home and my primary objective is to gain life experience necessary for my future application to be successful.

Naturally RMR would be the best choice but unfortunately due to my University location and my course I can't commit to the amount of time I would need to. Also when I sign up full time I wouldn't want to be in a position where I am expected to know more than I do.

So back to TA after I have passed training.
    During my holidays would it be possible to do a 3 month tour in either Afghanistan or Iraq? Being TA I am unsure whether I would be restricted or committed to a 6 month tour.
    3 months would tie in well with my course and I expect to use my next 3 years well. I would also hope to volunteer for deployments in Canada, America, Cyprus, Africa/anywhere else.
    I'm after making my years as useful and as jam packed as possible. If anyone has any thoughts they would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Edd

2. Command_doh

Command_doh LE Book Reviewer