Total War & Social Change

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by kjokkenjokken, Mar 13, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently studying Total War & Social Change with the Open Uni and am asking if any Arrsers have book recommendations/websites or even better past essays on the subject. The period covered by the course is 1914-1955, the current assignment is relevant to WW1, 2000 words aargh. Feel free to PM me if required

Many Thanks

2. I did the same course a few years ago as part of my BA Hons; as with all OU courses they give you the relevant books but with the initial packup of stuff there is a recommended reading list. I'm afraid you will have to get those books but don't worry there aren't many but they ain't cheap either.
    Very good course though - level 3 so not easy but enjoyable.

Pity those doing 'easy' media courses and they have to buy/rent/get hold of all the movies needed for the course and with it being the OU few are available from your local Blockbuster!

3. 'After the Reich' by Giles MacDonogh is totally recommended, a very good look at the transformation of Germany 1944 – 1955 & the motives of the players (USA, Sovs, Brits etc). Max Hastings raved about it.

4. dockers

dockers Old-Salt Book Reviewer

Recommend the following:

Marwick, Arthur, The deluge : British society and the First World War / Arthur Marwick . - 2nd ed . - Basingstoke : Macmillan, 1991

Evidence, history, and the Great War : historians and the impact of 1914-18 / edited by Gail Braybon, Oxford ; New York : Berghahn, 2003

or

Braybon, Gail, Women workers in the First World War, London ; New York : Routledge, 1989

Also useful:
    Marwick, Arthur, Britain in the century of total war : war, peace and social change. 1900-196 . - London (etc.) : Bodley Head, 1968