TORY POLICY: Scholarship for children of military dead

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by theEnd, Jan 9, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. The Tories have released a policy to reaffirm their commitment to the armed forces. A scholarship for those left behind.

"George Osborne and Liam Fox have announced that a Conservative government will provide "university and further education scholarships for the children of servicemen and women killed while on active duty." The scholarships would cover £8,210 in tuition fees and another £5,000 pa maintenance."

Those who qualify are from 1990.

Interesting

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8450368.stm

2. Wow, I was hoping for some rebuttals or intelligent scrutiny - but clearly i'm a Tory press officer after votes!

I am a card carrying tory but, seriously, is this policy a good idea or unworkable.

3. Lets wait for this to be implimented before commenting, so far tory "cast iron" promises aren't up to a lot.

4. Despite the smell of bandwagon, it's a good idea. It won't cost much, and will save them the worst of student debt. A practical help for those who have already lost so much.

5. What I can't get about these policy announcements is: why aren't they already in place? Is it a deeper philosophical issue with Labour and the military, that said the last Tory government and military..?

6. Nice idea, but surely will be seen as a vote getter, which it does in fact look like, why did they not do it when they were in before? ie Falklands?
    Plenty of kids left without fathers there too, so why only back to 1990?

7. I just hope the funds for it are taken from the Treasury or elsewhere, rather then adding more to the already stretched budget. But it is a good idea I think.