Too old?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by billywhu, Jun 10, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening Gents.

I'm thinking about joining the TA, but am not sure whether I'm now too old to 'fit in'.

I'm 28 years old and live in South East London. Fitness and attitude isn't a problem as I'm a self employed Personal Trainer.

I'm looking at either 4 Para or another local infantry platoon.

I was medically discharged at the age of 17 back in 98 during basic training, and have always felt that I have a score to settle with myself and get involved to do my bit.

My question is although I fall into the age requirements, are the TA looking at the younger generation (18-23) to join and would I be a little too old to get started?

Cheers

2. 28 isn't a problem.

Southeast London, though....

What are you waiting for?

3. Absolutely not too old. My hubbie joined 3 years ago at the age of 34 with no military background whatsoever. Partly my fault cos he'd been on about it for years and i turned to him one day and said 'for christ's sake stop talking about it and just bloody do it!!' So he joined local TA, which was RLC, changed to REME and is now getting a 'suntan' till November! No regrets for either of us but i did tell him that next time he has a mid life crisis could he please do something normal like buy a motorbike, take up drag racing, hang gliding, parachuting......................etc

4. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer

I'm 36 and going back in after 15 years of doing nowt.

Go for it. :D

5. You're both right aint ya?!

Just completed the online form and emailed 10 Coy in sunny Croydon.

Cheers.

6. Biped

Biped LE Book Reviewer

If it helps - I'm not a fitness trainer - I'm a desk jockey somewhat going to seed. This is my LAST chance to lose the pot-belly, and the first practice I'll have getting used to being called 'grandad'.