Too fat for TA? BMI info?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by cg227, Nov 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys.

Basically, I'm in my second year of uni and aspire to join up as an officer as a career after I've got my degree. But at the moment, I'm very interested in joining the TA infantry to get me some dosh and military experience.

Looking over the fitness requirements and stuff I know I can do them easily - being a lifeguard and working in a leisure environment for years means my fitness levels are already quite high, and I box for my uni and run quite often as I'm in preperation for the 2010 london marathon.

The thing is, I was in a menial office job for a year or so before I came to uni and my weight shot up to just under 20 stone (many people say I don't look this as I'm quite tall at 6'1" and quite muscular from exercise). I'm running (finding it quite easy) and dieting at the moment to shift weight, but I find myself in the position where I'm quite fit but very heavy.

A friend of mine in the TA mentioned to me the other day that 'they' might be introducing a BMI standard for the TA? If this is the case, I need to lose about 8 stone to get my BMI under 25? Does anyone else know about this?

Thanks

2. The TA does use a BMI system. I'd bore you about a friend who managed to get it lowered (he rowed for the UK, and for 42 Engr Regt as a ringer) for him to attend basic. But it can be done.

3. Dont worry about it ,have just sat on a RSC weekend and they didnt care about any of it.

Seriously though, aslong as the recruiters are sensible they should be able to see the difference between muscle mass and Lard mate.

4. as long as you can see your toes :D

5. Fella you need to get a bit of this weight off you, you'll **** your knees right up. get your self on one of those malnutrition diets